Friday, October 21, 2016

Review: 27 Lies by MJ Fields


A long time ago... 

I was young and naive. I thought I could save the world. I thought that protecting those around me from hurt and pain was what I was born to do. She made me feel that way. Ava Links, the little girl who was too fucking stubborn for her own good. The little girl who absorbed the hurt and pain of everyone around her and tried to bring sunshine to them all. The little girl who didn’t give a damn if people picked on her about wearing a crown and tutu every day. A little girl who somehow looked at me, expecting—no, damn near demanding—I protect her. 

I saw the pain she hid, and as I grew older, I understood that pain. The pain of being so much to so many that there is really never a “you”. 

I took control of my life... 

I had to get away from everyone who pulled at me in order to claim myself. When I became the man I was destined to be, I began to live. Then, one drunken night, Ava Links, no longer a little girl, said the right damn thing to me, and everything changed. After seven years of fucking her while home on leave with no expectations, now my life is out of control… 

One bad dream, one I love you, one night of pushing her the hell out of my life, one drummer stealing her heart, and one explosion took everything away. 

Lies are told. 
Lies are unraveling. 
Lies are going to destroy. 
These are my truths.

This book is not a flowing continuance to Ava’s story. It gives us small glimpses of the previous story from Luke’s POV and shows how he as well is grieving and suffering, in much need of physical and emotional healing.
Both Luke and Ava are broken, grieving each in their own way, both blaming themselves for things they are not guilty of and can’t be changed, but that’s life. This couple go through the process of accepting and learning to live with the losses in their lives, that love can be everlasting and ever changing, that not all love is the same and that one can find it more than once in a lifetime.
Luke has always loved Ava, but by pushing her away he changed both their destinies. She found a different kind of love in Tommy, but she never stops loving Luke. Then there’s the love they both have for the children and, of course, the lies told in the name of love.
In my opinion, this book didn’t have the gripping quality of the previous one, but in good MJ Fields’ fashion flows easily and tells a heartbreaking story that will make you cry and laugh and love her all the same.

4 stars
*An ARC was given in exchange for an honest review*

Haven’t read this series yet?  
Now is your chance, 27 Truths is NOW AVAILABLE! 


About the Author:

USA Today bestselling author MJ Fields love of writing was in full swing by age eight.
Together with her cousins, she wrote a newsletter and sold it for ten cents to family members.
She self-published her first contemporary, new adult romance in January 2013. Today she has completed seven self-published series, The Love series, The Wrapped series, The Burning Souls series, The Men of Steel series, Ties of Steel series, The Rockers of Steel series and The Norfolk series.
MJ is a hybrid author and publishes an Indie book almost every month, and is signed with a traditional publisher, Loveswept, Penguin Random House, for her co- written series The Caldwell Brothers. Hendrix, Morrison, and Jagger. All three books in the series are published. The Caldwell brothers don’t grow into alphas, when their mother passes away they become her legacy, her good in the world of bad.
MJ was a former small business owner, who closed shop so she could write full time. She lives in central New York, surrounded by family and friends. Her house is full of pets, friends, and noise ninety percent of the time, and she would have it no other way.
Stalk Her:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Pinterest | Goodreads 
Sign up for MJ’s monthly newsletter with giveaways:


Post a Comment